Governor Laura Kelly Announces Main Street Program Additions

2 Mar 2021


Governor Laura Kelly announced the selection of Atchison, Baldwin City, and Junction City as the newest members of the Kansas Main Street program, bringing the total number of designated Main Street communities in Kansas to 28.

These three communities are the first new additions to the state’s Main Street program since its reintroduction in Kansas in 2019.

“To aid our economic recovery from COVID-19, we must provide every Kansas community with the resources needed to prosper now and into the future,” Governor Kelly said. “The Main Street program is a key tool for future growth and economic development, and I am glad to see the addition of Atchison, Baldwin City, and Junction City.”

Kansas Main Street is a self-help technical assistance program administered by the Community Development Division at the Kansas Department of Commerce. The program targets preservation and revitalization of downtown districts through the development of a comprehensive strategy based on the four points of Organization, Design, Promotion and Economic Restructuring.

Read full article.